Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

The Bastrop Monument Relocation Committee seeks funding to help relocate Confederate monuments

Posted in:

On July 27, 2020, the Bastrop County Commissioner’s Court issued a Resolution and Order regarding relocation of confederate monuments from the courthouse lawn. The following citizens of Bastrop County were appointed to the committee: Co-Chairs Cheryl Lee and Sharah Johnson along with committee members Willy Culberson, Damon Doss, Don Fannin, Bernie Jackson, Sumai Lokumbe, Robert Mauck, Carl Rees, and Samella Williams. In the Court's Resolution and Order, it states: “Whereas, words, symbols, and images on these two monuments go beyond honoring veterans by subtly glorifying the Confederacy and prescribing nobility to the Lost Cause of the South; and Whereas, it is ...

PLEASE LOG IN FOR PREMIUM CONTENT. Our website requires visitors to log in to view the best local news. Not yet a subscriber? Subscribe today!