Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Officers honored with memorial ceremony

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Peace Officers from throughout Bastrop County attended the annual Peace Officers Memorial. Representatives pictured are from the cities of Bastrop, Elgin and Smithville police departments, Bastrop County Sheriff’s Office, Bastrop County Constables, LCRA

The Bastrop Police Department hosted the Bastrop County Peace Officers Memorial Ceremony on May 15 at Fairview Cemetery.

This is a joint effort from all law enforcement agencies of Bastrop County. Those agencies besides Bastrop PD include the Elgin and Smithville police departments, the Bastrop County Sheriff’s Department, the Bastrop County Constables’ Offices, Bastrop ISD Police, the Texas Department of Public Safety, Lower Colorado River Authority Public Safety, Texas Parks & Wildlife Police and the University of Texas Police Department.

The annual observance is held in conjunction with National Police Week on May 12 through

18. The ceremony is a way to honor, respect and remember officers lost in the line of duty. There have been five deaths of officers in Bastrop County since 1870 who have lost their lives. All five officers were killed by gunfire.

Bastrop County officers killed in the line of duty include:

Bastrop Deputy City Marshal Eli Stallings, killed on March 12, 1870

Bastrop County Deputy Constable Charlie Hoskins, killed on September 16, 1885

Bastrop County constable Daniel Jenkins, killed on November 23, 1900

Bastrop County Deputy Sheriff R. W. “Bob” Gray, killed on April 16, 1918

Elgin Chief of Police James M. Mumford, killed on November 15, 1963

Bastrop Police Officer Tamera McIntyre was the mistress of ceremonies for this year’s ceremony, and Kenneth Mack, a retired Bastrop police officer and retired Galveston Police Chief, was the guest speaker. The program also included the presentation of a memorial wreath by UTPD, Elgin PD, Texas Parks & Wildlife Police and BISD Police, a three-volley salute by the Bastrop County Sheriff’s Department, TAPS by Bastrop PD detective Jason Pierson and closing remarks by Bastrop Mayor Connie Schroeder.

Next year’s Peace Officers Memorial Ceremony will be hosted by Elgin PD.