Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Elgin ISD names schools’ teachers of the year

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Marissa Marciel
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Megan Ross
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Patience Blythe
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Shelbi Swenson
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Zina Casales

During Teacher Appreciation Week, the Elgin ISD Human Capital Department announced this year’s Elgin ISD Teachers of the Year on Thursday.

The winners this year are Megan Ross, a special education teacher at Elgin High School; Patience Blythe, a college and career readiness teacher at Elgin Middle School; Zina Casales, a kindergarten teacher at Neidig Elementary School; Shelbi Swenson, a third grade teacher at Booker T. Washington Elementary School; and Marissa Marciel, a second grade teacher at Elgin Elementary School.

The award is determined by a campus vote, according to Elgin ISD Human Capital’s announcement on Facebook.

“To be selected by one’s peers—particularly when they’re as phenomenal as our campus teams in Elgin ISD—is an incredible honor indeed!” the post said.