Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
3 minutes
Read so far

Unofficial results: McShan beats Lippke two-to-one for Elgin mayor

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    The Bastrop County results for the Elgin mayoral race. This does not include votes from Travis County; see below for the complete vote total.

Over two-thirds of Elgin voters chose Theresa McShan as the city’s next mayor in Saturday’s local elections.

McShan led the Elgin mayoral election with 67.34% of the vote, compared to 32.66% for her opponent, Stephanie McBurney Lippke, according to the unofficial results from Bastrop and Travis counties on Saturday night.

“To the citizens of Elgin: Thank you for your vote of confidence in me,” McShan said in a statement. “The work is just begun. I will not be able to change or fix issues overnight, but know that I will be getting up to speed as quickly as possible. My door is always open and I am a phone call or email away. I am honored and proud to be the next mayor of this great City of Elgin.”

“I’d like to congratulate Theresa McShan, for being elected Elgin’s new Mayor and for being the first African-American Mayor in Elgin’s 150 years history,” Lippke said in a statement on social media. “I wish her all the best and look forward to seeing her plans for Elgin’s future.”

However, the mayoral race was not the only one on the ballot for City of Elgin voters; each of the four seats up for election this May, one from each ward, were contested this year. 

In Ward 1, Joy Casnovsky defeated Amanda D. Moore with 59.21% of the vote.

Challenger Al Rodriguez, earning 65.42% of the vote, unseated Ward 3 incumbent Thomas Ibis.

With 61.81% of the vote, Ward 4 incumbent Sue Prinz Brashar defended against challenger Grant Hennig.

The race for Ward 2 council member between YaLecia Love and Chuck Swain is separated by only six votes, with Swain coming out ahead and gathering 51.61% of the vote.

The preliminary results available on Saturday night may not include all eligible votes, and the official results available in the coming days will include any provisional ballots or mail-in ballots that were postmarked by Election Day. The official results are expected to be completed by both Bastrop and Travis counties on May 16.

In addition, each trustee seat up for election on the Elgin ISD school board was also contested, with each position drawing three candidates. Despite the three-candidate races, two of the three school board races will avoid a run-off, as the candidate with the most votes earned more than 50% of the votes in the District 4 and 5 races.

In District 4, incumbent Angie Edmon defended against challengers Joe Cox and Stephen Reyes, earning 71.28% of the vote.

In District 5, Patrick Maass emerged as the winner with 57.32% of the vote over Duane Weber and Sarah Gudenkauf.

In District 7, Jennifer Culver earned 40.36% of the vote, defeating John R. Altmiller Jr. and Mary Alice Penson.*

Two commissioner terms expired this year on the board of the Bastrop/Travis Counties ESD #1, the Elgin- and McDade-area emergency services district, and three candidates ran for the positions. In this race, voters are able to choose two of the three candidates, and the two candidates with the most votes will become commissioners. Liston Crim and incumbent Larry Moseley gathered the two highest vote totals, with 870 and 700 votes respectively; Matthew Benson was defeated, earning 494 votes.


Mayor Bastrop Travis Total %
Stephanie McBurney Lippke 257 32 289 32.66%
Theresa McShan 550 46 596 67.34%
Ward 1 Bastrop Travis Total %
Joy Casnovsky 90 - 90 59.21%
Amanda D. Moore 62 - 62 40.79%
Ward 2 Bastrop Travis Total %
YaLecia Love 74 16 90 48.39%
Charles "Chuck" Swain 68 28 96 51.61%
Ward 3 Bastrop Travis Total %
Thomas Ibis 68 15 83 34.58%
Al Rodriguez 141 16 157 65.42%
Ward 4 Bastrop Travis Total %
Sue Prinz Brashar 178 - 178 61.81%
Grant Hennig 110 - 110 38.19%


EISD 4 Bastrop Travis Lee Total %
Angie Edmon 89 50 - 139 71.28%
Joe Cox 19 8 - 27 13.85%
Stephen Reyes 19 10 - 29 14.87%
EISD 5 Bastrop Travis Lee Total %
Duane Weber 7 8 0 15 4.78%
Patrick Maass 129 45 6 180 57.32%
Sarah Gudenkauf 64 53 2 119 37.90%
EISD 7 Bastrop Travis Lee Total %
Jennifer Culver 134 - - 134 40.36%
Mary Alice Penson 70 - - 70 21.08%
John R. Altmiller, Jr. 128 - - 128 38.55%


B/TC ESD #1 Bastrop Travis Total
Liston Crim 824 46 870
Larry Moseley 645 55 700
Matthew Benson 447 47 494



Foerster voted next Smithville mayor

Smithville voters selected their next mayor, Sharon Seidel Foerster, in Saturday’s election.

Foerster and Tom Etheredge, two current city council members, faced off for the Smithville mayor position after current mayor, Joanne Morgan, did not run for re-election. Foerster beat Etheredge with 53.64% of the vote, according to the unofficial results for the May 7 local elections.

In the other contested race for the Smithville City Council, Cassie Barrientos beat Dane Garrison for the Place 4 seat with 52.42% of the vote.

Place 5 incumbent Janice Bruno ran for re-election unopposed.

The Smithville ISD school board had three positions up for re-election.

Incumbent Candice Parsons ran unopposed for her Place 5 position.

For Place 6, Josh Magden beat Margarita Igoe with 68.25% of the vote. For Place 7, Michael Hancock beat Casey Hanchey with 64.16% of the vote.


Mayor Votes %
Tom Etheredge 312 46.36%
Sharon Seidel Foerster 361 53.64%
Place 4 Votes %
Cassie Barrientos 336 52.42%
Dane Garrison 305 47.58%


SISD 6 Votes %
Margarita Igoe 420 31.75%
Josh Magden 903 68.25%
SISD 7 Votes %
Casey Hanchey 476 35.84%
Michael Hancock 852 64.16%



Incumbent keeps Bastrop ISD board seat

For Bastrop ISD, three seats were up for election this year for Places 5, 6 and 7. Incumbents Chris Dillon and Matthew Mix ran unopposed for their Place 5 and 6 positions. In Place 7, incumbent Ashley Mutschink defended against challenger Joseph B. Thompson with 64.23% of the vote.

The Bastrop City Council did not have any contested races this year, and its election for the two seats up for re-election was canceled. The two unopposed candidates, John Kirkland and Cheryl Lee, will be sworn in to join the city council.



BISD 7 Votes %
Ashley Mutschink 1,966 64.23%
Joseph B. Thompson 1,095 35.77%



These election results are unofficial and will be certified by their respective governing bodies in the coming weeks.

To see these results, visit, and Elgin city limits and the Bastrop/Travis County ESD #1 both include territory in Travis County, and Elgin ISD includes territory in Travis and Lee counties.


*Correction: According to the Elgin ISD school board policy, the candidate that receives the most votes wins, and there is no run-off election. This article previously incorrectly stated that Jennifer Culver and John R. Altmiller Jr. would have a run-off election.