Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Over 200 pieces dazzle art lovers at Pearls of Youth

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Crysta De La Cruz and Samantha Carroll received $1,500 scholarships from the Elgin Arts Association during the Pearls of Youth Art Show reception on April 14. Photos by Ashley Smith
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Sean Howerton also received a $1,500 scholarship from the Elgin Arts Association during the Pearls of Youth Art Show reception on April 14.
  • Article Image Alt Text
    From left to right: Jennifer Grames, Brock Logan, Allison Keedy, Katie Hoover and Rachel Allen received certificates of appreciation from the Elgin Arts Association for their years of support of the Pearls of Youth Art Show during a reception on April

The Elgin Arts Association gave awards to 12 young artists, presented scholarships to three local high school seniors and recognized four local art teachers with the new Pearls of Education Award at the 2019 Pearls of Youth Art Show on April 13 and 14 at The Clever Tiger.

This annual event showcases artwork from students in the Elgin, Coupland and McDade school districts, as well as homeschool students, and this year received more than 200 pieces from students ranging in age from three to 18 years old.

Artwork included drawings, paintings, watercolor, photography, digital, embroidery, clay and mixed media, among others, expressing the creativity and artistic talents of the students in our community. The annual spring event also awarded three $1,500 scholarships to graduating high school seniors to help fund their higher education in any field of the arts.

Scholarship recipients this year included Samantha Carroll, Crysta De La Cruz and Sean Howerton, all seniors at Elgin High School. Each of these students plans to continue their education next year in an arts-related field.

The four Pearls of Education Awards went to Katie Hoover from Elgin High School; Jennifer Grames from Neidig Elementary School; Marilyn Cornelius, retired from Elgin High School; and Marcia Jackson. All four have made significant contributions as art teachers and to the greater arts community in Elgin.

A jury of three local artists scored submitted artwork in four categories, which include grades 9-12, grade 6-8, grades 3-5, and Pre-K to grade 2. Awards winners in those categories included:


1st place: Jessica Sosa,

Atypical, Elgin High School

2nd place: Jeana Quinones, Extrovert with Social Problems, Elgin High School

3rd place: Lizeth Tapia Plancarte, Hope, Elgin High School


1st place: Jayda Willis, Reflection Point of View, Elgin Middle School

2nd place: Priceilla Gonzales, City Sunset, Coupland ISD

3rd place: Hilario Cruz-Rodriguez, Night Life, Elgin Middle School

Third to Fifth Grade

1st place: Laurel Floyd, Dumbledore’s Army, Coupland ISD

2nd place: Asher Odom, The Tree of Caring and Kindness, Elgin Elementary School

3rd place: Marisa Jones, Abstract, Booker T. Washington Elementary School


1 st place: Elizabeth Anderson, Crikey, a Croc!, Neidig Elementary

2 nd place: Charlotte Evans, Slither, Neidig Elementary

3 rd place: Nathan Beyer, Who Hoo Weaving, Neidig Elementary

For information on EAA events, visit, or contact EAA President Dan Kleiner at or 512-497-8628.