Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Future teachers receive awards

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Crysta De La Cruz (left) and Ophelia Sanchez (right) created a children’s book, “Mia Saves the World,” which placed in the top 10. Sanchez wrote the story, while De La Cruz illustrated the book. Photo contributed

Elgin High School’s Texas Association of Future Educators (TAFE) Chapter competed at the TAFE Teach Tomorrow Summit State Competitions February 28, 2019 in Allen, Texas.

Six teams competed at state and four teams were awarded state finalist blue ribbons. In order to receive a first place blue ribbon, the students must score a 90 or better on their presentation, where they explain how their concept can be utilized by a teacher in the classroom setting.

Cydney Crayton, Amber Cork and Alyssa Randall competed in the Elementary Interactive Bulletin Board Competition. Xyla Richardson, Madison Davis and Miranda Roberts competed in the Secondary Interactive Bulletin Board. Cydney Crayton, Xyla Richardson, and Madison Davis competed in the Chapter Yearbook Competition. Amber Cork competed in the Differentiated Lesson Plan Competition. Ophelia Sanchez and Crysta De La Cruz competed in the Children’s Literature Kindergarten-Third Grade Competition with a children’s book they wrote and illustrated. Ophelia and Crysta’s story, “Mia Saves the World” placed in the top 10.

These projects take months of preparation, and Elgin High School is very proud of the hard work and dedication these students put in to making their projects outstanding.