Elgin Courier

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Time to nominate a 2013 ‘Worthy Citizen’

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, December 17, 2013 5:00 pm | Updated: 9:22 am, Thu Aug 14, 2014.

The Elgin Chamber of Commerce honors an Elgin citizen each year by proclaiming him/her as ‘Most Worthy Citizen.’

The honor is announced during the annual Chamber of Commerce banquet, which will be held Thursday, January 23, at Elgin High School.

The Worthy Citizen honor is awarded as a result of work through the city’s government, its churches, some phase of the school’s programs, business or organizations. Some deserving person in Elgin will be proclaimed Elgin’s 2013 Most Worthy Citizen as a result of the that noteworthy contribution.

Anyone, individual or organization, is eligible to nominate a choice be simply writing a letter to the Chamber.

Nominations must be submitted in writing fully detailing qualifications of the nominee for Most Worthy Citizen.

Some things which might be considered as traits of a Most Worthy Citizen are qualities of leadership, character, family life, religious activities and service to the Elgin community and its citizens. There are no other requirements.

A person, who in 2013 and in years past, helped to make Elgin a better place to live and touched lives in a special way will be named after all the nominations are considered by a selection committee named by the Chamber.

Many superb citizens have received the award since its inception in 1958, and the following is a complete listing to date:

The Worthy Citizen awards first recipient was Dr. Roy H. Morris. The recipients in the following years included Mrs. C.W. (Emma) Webb, 1959; William T. (Tommy) McCullogh, 1960; Miss Nell Owens, 1961; Mrs. Jackson (Zoe) Webb, 1962; Virgil Rabb, 1963; Velma Leseman, 1964; Guy Carter, 1965; Helen Stach, 1966; Reverend Herman Engeling, 1967; Joe Meier, 1968; Brother Ray Head, 1969.

Lawson Rivers, 1970; Theresa Griffin, 1971; Roland Lund, 1972; Colonel Ervin Stuard, 1973; J.J. Moore, 1974; Fay Newman, 1975; James (Buddy) Bryant, 1976; Caroll Dankfells, 1977; Otis Schanhals, 1978; Ray Arbuckle Jr. and Mary Jo Galbraith, 1979.

Betty Lynn Meyer, 1980; Dr. Wallace Cardwell, 1981; All members of the Elgin Volunteer Fire Department in 1982; Ken Daughtry, 1983; Katie Mogonye, 1984; Sandy Murphee, 1985; Robert Meadows, 1986; Marge Carlson, 1988; Philip S. Knowles, 1989.

Melissa Pugh, 1990; Annie Lee Haywood, 1991; Don Hudson, 1992; Jan Schroeder, 1993; Barbara and Ernie Bogart, 1994; June Thompson, 1995; Dr. Charles Graham, 1996; Kay Wing, 1997; David Fenske, 1998; Mayor Eric Carlson, 1999.

Linda Mogonye, 2000; Beverly Daughtry, 2001; Mike Davis, 2002; Glynda Schroeder, 2003; Theresa McShan, 2004; Karin Barker, 2005; Donna Snowden, 2006; Dorothy Doolittle, 2007; Jeff Carter, 2008; and Beth Walterscheidt, 2009.

Marjorie Matetzschk, 2010; David Glass, 2011 and Ed Rivers, 2012.

Send letters to Elgin Chamber of Commerce, Worthy Citizen, P.O. Box 408, Elgin, Texas 78621.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.